Wireless connection broadband

Discussion in 'Internet, Connectivity and Communications' started by sjfalber, Feb 16, 2006.

1. sjfalber

sjfalber New Member

:eek: Help I'm new to this broadband lark !

I have installed a connection using the ethernet cable and the SpeedTouch 576 ADSL router and this works fine .

I am now trying to utilise the Centrino capeability of the laptop and am experiancing a number of problems :

1. My wireless connection keeps reporting 'Acquiring network address - limited or no connectivity' tried to Install the patch for SP 2 (Windows XP OS) but doesn't make any difference.

2 I have been advised to change the channel of my wireless network by typing in the IP address of my modem router into Windows Explorer but I haven't a clue how to find this. :cry:

Can anyone help me in my quest to be young free & wireless !?

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Reconnect using the ethernet cable.

In a cmd window ('DOS' box) type ipconfig /all

Look for the 'Default Gateway' IP address for the ethernet adaptor. That will be the address of the router. And it needs to go into Internet Explorer - not Windows Explorer.

I doubt that the channel is the problem, unless you are in an area where there are many WiFi units. You need to check that you connected to the right router - how many wifi systems are shown in the wizard?

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. hbroomhall

I see from the manual (which you should have a copy of with the unit :biggrin ) that the default IP for this unit is 192.168.1.254. So unless you have changed it that will be what you browse to.

In the manual I'm looking at all the details are in chapter 2.

Harry.

4. sjfalber

sjfalber New Member

:biggrin Harry many thanks you must have the missing manual !
    All I have is a piece of paper with safety Instructions on it.