Which way to go?!

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Dream_In_Infrared, Aug 26, 2005.

1. Dream_In_Infrared

Dream_In_Infrared Nibble Poster

I have read with interest the advice given in answer to various threads about how to start in IT. There is a lot to consider. Having tried distance learning, and made little progress, I feel I am at a crossroads. I want to start a career in IT and need to make it on to the first rung of the ladder, but how to do this?

I have a degree and used to teach so have all kinds of background experience in study techniques advice. The problem is that IT is so different to anything I have done before. :shrugs:

Distance learning left me cold as did the provider. Support was virtually non-existant. The 'work' was 'read this, learn it, answer questions' format.

From this experience I know I need hands-on experience. From past experience of distance learning and 'read this, etc' it went in one ear and straight out of the other! :oops:

I am tempted by the Cerco 4 week intensive because at least it would offer the hands-on I feel I need and even though it would provide their CCSN qualification, I think this would give useful experience that would dovetail with self-study for an A+.

I also read that one forum member has lined up some voluntary work experience and am eager to canvas local business and organisations about such an idea as this would further add to the experiential learning process.

Does all of this sound like a feasible plan?

Certifications: None :(
    WIP: A+
  2. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...

*bump* Anyone got any inout on this, Guys ? :)

Certifications: MCP, A+, Network+
    WIP: Clarity
  3. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster