Where to begin with MCITP?!

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by maccaman, Feb 10, 2009.

1. maccaman

maccaman Bit Poster

Hi All

New member trying to create a new career here...

I've had a good look across the web aswell as the stickies at the top of this board and I struggled to find an answer to my query so I apologise if this has been answered elsewhere...

I have a degree in Multimedia but little to no useful experience in the IT trade. Tragically my laptop containing all of my folio work along with backups on ipod and DVD was stolen from me shortly before graduating so I have little to show for my degree either. :oops:

Finding MM jobs has been very hard and I am not a very creative soul, so I have decided to move into a more focused IT career. I intend to get a helpdesk job to get things started and try and get some exp but thought it could not hurt to get some MCP certs while I look.

My question is fairly simple, where do I start?? I am interested in the MCITP certifications, my problem is finding a good resource to guide me. Many of the MCITP certs require a pre-requisite exam.

I have seen the self-study guides on amazon etc and I am very good at buckling down and teaching myself but I dont know which kit to order!!!

If anyone would take the time to help me with some guidance on this I would really appreciate it. If I have posted in the wrong section of the forum, please let me know.

Many many thanks.
    Alastair

2. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

Welcome to Cert Forums!

In relation to the MCITP there are many tracks, which are explained here at the MS site.

If your looking to get into Helpdesk Support to start working in IT and then branch out, I would recommend going down the route of the MCDST (Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician) which is based around Windows XP.