What to do??

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Johnd76, Sep 25, 2011.

1. Johnd76

Johnd76 Megabyte Poster

Hi folks,

Right I am getting nowhere on the IT jobs front, so wondering where i go from here? As I have no work experience I dont expect anyone to take a chance on me...so in the opinon of the people on here what is the best thing to do from here? :(

Certifications: MCP, MCDST
    WIP: Not a thing
  2. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Firstly mate, whatever you do - don't give up!

I was in the same boat as you 10 years ago, and had a number of knock backs to my job applications.

Each time I had rejection letter it only made me more determined to succeed, and I would simply up the number of job adverts I replied to.

Eventually I found a company that was looking for someone with knowledge, but not necessarily experience, and they decided to take a chance on me. At first the pay was low (lower than my previous job), but I stuck at it and they soon upped my pay.

What sort of places are you searching for jobs?

Cheers
    NB:D

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  3. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

Make sure you are looking at jobs appropriate to your level. Applying for System Admin roles is likely to lead to disappointment. Typically, you are looking for Helpdesk, or 1st Line Support/Technician type roles.

Don't be put off by some experience requirements (quite a few jobs list certain experience as essential but is isnt really) - so long as it's not a high-level job it should be fine to still apply.

Make sure your CV is up to scratch. A bad CV can and will utterly kill your chance at the role.

Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  4. FSZ

FSZ Bit Poster