What are you doing for New Years Eve?

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by tripwire45, Dec 31, 2008.

1. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Thought we could all share our plans, particularly since we represent places from many parts of the globe. It's not quite 8 a.m. where I am, but most of you are a lot closer to the New Year.

My plans? I haven't done anything "special" on New Year's Eve for many years now. Mainly, I hide inside from all the drunk drivers on the road. I'll probably go to bed before midnight, depending on what the missus and my daughter are up to, but it's always possible enough noise makers will go off around midnight to wake me up.

After today, I get another 4 days off. Probably hit some writing projects, professional and otherwise. Yesterday, I started practicing with the vi editor enough to be able to create a basic document, including the HTML, which is what I was shooting for. Not very proficient with the commands yet, but that's why you practice. Still trying to decide if I want to use Vim or stick with "old school" vi.

So, what are *you* going to be doing tonight?

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  2. rax

rax Megabyte Poster

I'm planning to attend a small get together with some of my friends to see in the new year. We don't get the chance to see each other like we used to when we were young (teenagers), so it's a nice excuse.

Last year I went out for new year but ended up feeling misserable. So many people were out, falling over themselves, being sick etc. and it made me feel physically sick at the human race. Odd, I know, but I could only see humans behaving in such ways as some sort of disease upon the earth.. :rolleyes:

I hope it's better this year anyway :)

Certifications: ITIL v3 Foundation, CompTIA Network+
  3. NightWalker

NightWalker Gigabyte Poster