Two Months Into First IT Job Report

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by craigie, Aug 13, 2008.

1. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

Well, I'm currently a little over two months into my first IT job and thought it would be a good idea to give you a little feedback about what has been happening.

I work as a Helpdesk Analyst for a large IT provider and work on a government contract supporting a little over 10,000 PC's and 2,000 Laptops.

I log calls and advise people on how to fix these (1st line support) heres the clincher, as someone who is awaiting security clearance, we cannot Remote Assist or even connect to the government network in anyway.

This means that we have to resolve all of our calls using the end customer and talking them threw possible solutions. Calls range from Password Resets, to hardware failures, to complete building network connectivity losses, to Outlook setup, to permission requests.

Even though it can be frustrating not being cleared it has allowed me time to study whilst waiting for the clearance to come through.

So whats happened over the past two months?

From a work prospective, I was granted the ability to 'invoice' calls within two weeks, which basically means they do not have to be checked by someone else before being invoiced. Which I was really pleased with as most people do not achieve this within six months!

I was also recently asked to start training new starters and recently trained my first Helpdesk Analyst which was great fun (used alot of previous experience for this from other jobs).

I put forward two plans to my Team Leaders to change:

1. The way that calls are assigned to 2nd line.
    2. Internal procedure to identify training areas for Helpdesk Analysts.

Both of these have been implemented in the past month.