System Engineer or Network Engineer

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by 1Q2W3E, Dec 4, 2010.

1. 1Q2W3E

1Q2W3E Bit Poster

Hi everyone,

I have a degree in Multimedia that involves Programming (PHP, MySql, Apache), Networking and etc...

My question is, I am lost and do not know what particular field to choose and progress within that field, I have done some research on both field and my conclusion is to move into the Networking or System Engineer field because i do not have a great interest in Programming.

Another thing is, can anyone advice me if Networking Engineer is better or System Engineer(MCSE), or the differences and the work reliability that is involved.

if i choose Networking! i guess in order to broader my knowledge is to get
    the CCENT certificate, as a entry level right? and if i choose to become a MCSE, i have to start with compTIA
    A+, N+, MCDST and finally MCSE and of course with a couple of years of working within that sector, to become a MCSE.

Thank you so much

Certifications: Degree
    WIP: MCSA
  2. gosh1976

gosh1976 Kilobyte Poster

My first bit of advice is that if you are not currently working in IT get any kind of entry level job or experience you can. This is likely to be a level 1 help desk type role. I have friends in a number of different IT jobs from web design, to .net Q/A tester, Unix admin, systems admin and they all either started out on a help desk or fixing PC's in the local computer shop or have co-workers that did.