Starting out in CISCO!!

Discussion in 'Routing & Switching' started by Gareth, Oct 21, 2003.

1. Gareth

Gareth New Member

Hey guy's,
    I'm new to this forum and have a question I hope you won't mind answering. My goal at present is to try and obtain the CCNA cert in order to find better more challenging career other then Desktop support which I currently do and seem to be stuck in a rut!!!. I have no experience with CISCO and am starting from scratch. What I would like to know is how best to go about it?! I know that day to day, real world experience is the best way, but I don't have that option. The options I have seem to be a boot camp where you do self study with Sims and then go on a weeks course and then sit the exam. I could also in conjunction with this set-up a home lab with a router or 2 to get the 'hands-on' experience, but at what cost would this be, and which kit is best suited to studying for the CCNA???

Any help and advice would be much appreciated

Cheers
    Gareth :)

2. punkboy101
    Honorary Member

punkboy101 Back from the wilderness

Hi Gareth

My personal opinion is, if posible, get yourself enrolled into a Cisco academy. Most colleges have one, and I think it's a better way to learn than the boot camps.

With a boot camp, you only have 5 days to do the course, and there is alot of ground to cover, so I don't think you really get the depth of understanding that you would get at an academy. The downside to an academy is that you really need at least one day or evening a week available to go to college. It takes a year, but the way the course is laid out, you build your knowledge from the ground up, and therefore learn alot more, and there are exams at the end of every semester to test your knowledge.

The self study way I find isn't for me, but some people find that the best way. If you go this route, get a few decent cisco books and a couple of routers and switches.