Some future career advice please

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by welshwaynejack, Jan 20, 2011.

1. welshwaynejack

welshwaynejack Bit Poster

Sorry to be a pain again and ask for your advice...Today while doing my part time retail sales assistant job I was asked by the manager what I was going to do once I completed my masters degree...I replied I wasn’t sure but had my heart set on getting into the IT industry. My manager replied that there was a chance I could get onto a role within the company doing supply chain process development analysis as I have been with the company for a good seven years and have a lot of potential which, the company would like to use. My question is should once I complete my masters consider this offer and gain experience within the supply chain of a big DIY retailer before looking to transfer into a system analysis job after a few years or should I attempt to get onto a graduate scheme? Or look for entry level IT jobs?

I know a little about the supply chain and how IT plays a pivotal role but would really need to self study to bring myself up to speed...Anyone on this form work alongside it or are apart of it? Any advice would be fully appreciated..Thank you for your time...

Certifications: Bsc Computer and Information Systems
    WIP: Msc Computer Forensics
  2. drum_dude

drum_dude Gigabyte Poster

Sounds like a Business Analyst role for Logistics. Logistics is a good business to be in and if you can get into the BA side and programme development then yeah that would be far suited to your academic qualifications. IT plays a huge part in Logistics and after a 10 year gap I have now gone full circle and am back in Logistics. Seems like the only business in the country that does not rely on government contracts!

I worked at Christian Salvesen 10 years ago BEFORE I got into IT and now I'm back at a warehousing/transport company that relies heavily on a UNIX solution for the supply stuff!