Some Advice please

Discussion in 'MCAD / MCSD / MCPD' started by greatchap, Feb 2, 2006.

1. greatchap

greatchap Bit Poster

Hello Everyone,

I am interested in microsoft certification and the certification of my interest is MCAD.

I am a graduate (completed my masters degree in I.T) (UK) (2005) and I have worked for 1 -2 years as a developer (before doing masters). I major in Visual Basic 6 and SQL language. I have done bit of java, php and have knowledge of MS office and MS Windows.

Since there is a lot of demand of .NET in the industry i want to do MCAD.NET.

At the moment I am looking for work so I am busy till the evening and free there after. I want to self study for MCAD as joining training is horribly eXpensive.

There are 3 suggessions i wanted.

1. I think i have selected the right certification. What do u think??

2. How many hours do i need to put every day in order to do it effectively ? I do have knowledge of VB6 but no knowledge of .NET / VB.NET. Any advice as to how do i go about it.?

3. In the first course module i am confused as to which one should i pick -

(a) Exam 70–305*: Developing and Implementing Web Applications with Microsoft Visual Basic .NET and Microsoft Visual Studio .NET

OR

(b)Exam 70–306*: Developing and Implementing Windows-based Applications with Microsoft Visual Basic .NET and Microsoft Visual Studio .NET

Any advice??

Are the books refered in Microsoft site enough to do them or any other book is recommended.

[MCAD/MCSD Self-Paced Training Kit: Developing Windows-Based Applications with Microsoft Visual Basic .NET and Microsoft Visual C# .NET. ]

I would be glad if you can help me out.

Thanks,
    JG

2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Howdy! You've definately picked the right route by self studying.

Whilst I can't offer any help in terms of your questions (I'm not a developer), I can give your post a *BUMP*!

8)

3. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster