Secruity+ 2008

Discussion in 'Security+' started by mrobinson52, Dec 18, 2008.

1. mrobinson52

mrobinson52 Security Maven Gold Member

I am planning to take the Security+ at the end of Winter break, so I am giving myself a month to study. I have the new Sybex Security+ Deluxe book and the 2008 objectives http://certification.comptia.org/resources/objectives/Security_Objectives08.pdf.

I failed the test a couple of years ago because I did not study enough and I am not really good at memorizing things like subnetting and port numbers. Has anyone taken the new 2008 test yet? Anyone got any other suggestions? I have gotten my Associate of Science degree in IT Security since my previous failure, and have learned to study harder. I just hope there is not so much stuff that you have to memorize for the CompTIA tests that in the real world you would look up just to double check your memory.

Wish me luck! :eek:

Certifications: A+, Network+, MCSA:Security, Security+
    WIP: CISSP
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Good luck on the exam and congrats on achieving the AS :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Sadly, the Sybex Security+ book is pretty bad. Check out my comments and recommendations in this thread.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  4. mrobinson52

Thank you Michael. I was afraid that the quality of Sybex might go down after they were bought out by Wiley. Being currently unemployed, I am hard pressed to get another book right now, but perhaps my CISSP book might help? :blink

5. BosonMichael