Red Dead Redemption

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by DrHogg, May 25, 2010.

1. DrHogg

DrHogg Bit Poster

Seeing as pete.grant posted about Alan Wake, I wonder - has anyone here tried Read Dead Redemption yet?

I'm enjoying it, though I do not believe that it lives up to the hype that surrounded it. Offline play is enjoyable but even though it's an "open world," it still feels a little linear at the moment.

For example, in one part of the story I wanted to shoot the guy in the head, the game faded to black and it said Mission Failed: You broke the law! ... I thought they had said we would be able to make our own choices. Most of the time it appears you can, but sometimes this kind of thing crops up and makes me feel let down.

Another major bone of contention I have is with the Free Roam online play. Now granted I'm fairly new to Xbox stuff; but it feels like a let down that you can't do skinning, buying/selling, etc. or even use a lassoo in Free Realm. Perhaps I'm missing something but I just can't seem to get these things to happen online.

A side from the game itself, it really irritates me that I have to mute every other player because they're some snotty 10 year old, even though the game is rated 18+. As a father myself, I echo the game developer's response to the BBC questioning under 18's playing..

http://news.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/hi/technology/newsid_10130000/newsid_10136300/10136311.stm

WIP: 70-682
  2. ThomasMc

ThomasMc Gigabyte Poster

I've been getting mixed reports from the people that managed to get a copy although Bird People Glitch looks funny :D

Certifications: MCDST|FtOCC
    WIP: MCSA(70-270|70-290|70-291)
  3. DrHogg

DrHogg Bit Poster

I haven't seen that myself, but I have seen in Free Roam:
    * Horses that get shot dead - sometimes their corpse floats up in to the sky as if ascending to heaven.
    * Horses that are whistled for - sometimes they fall from the sky as if being dropped from a plane.