reading stuff

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by zxspectrum, Sep 9, 2007.

1. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Ok people this may sound daft, but when you read up on a subject which can be anything you like, how do you go about doing it

As im doing a degree i have to read a lot of material but i cant seem to get a pattern going. Im very easily distracted and also i live in a student house so theres not much chance of getting any peace either. The uni has a library with quiet study space whih i seldom use.

Now some people have methods like having some music on in the background , which doesnt work or me as i like dance music, yes the mindless repetitive thumping noise sort of stuff.

What methods do you lot use and do they work well for you , if you like include your diet and fitness in brief detail if you like.

Cheers
    Ed

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

When I was at Uni I read the books and took notes of important stuff along the way.

I cant seem to do that these days though, so with the Mike Meyers all in one exam guide and the PC Tecnician street smarts book as I am studying for the A+ I am highlighting important points in the actual books and this seems to be working for me

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

It depends. On IT related stuff I get the reading material, read it over fairly quickly once so I have some ideas as to how to use it, and then start putting it into use in some way that is meaningful to me. That immediately puts me in a frame of mind to concentrate, and directs me right back to what I've just been reading. Using the concepts I just read about really helps cement the ideas in my mind.