Re-training in Web

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Maxelcat, Dec 20, 2005.

1. Maxelcat

Maxelcat Bit Poster

Hello all

been teaching for 15 years and can't stand it anymore. Had to leave due to ill health.

I am considering re-training in IT with a view to working in web design.

I have some experience of HTML, Javascrip, CSS and web design, but only a a glorified hobby (I wrote a web based course for 14/15 year olds that was sold to 3 schools)

I have approached two course providers and been told that there are many, mnay jobs for webdesigners with qualifications, a lot of which are probably contract and involve working from home (paradise!!!)The same is true it seems for networkers and Cisco people (not that I know much about this side of things) apart from the working at home bit!!!

Is it true that there is lots of demand for web designers? Are they just trying to sell me their courses?

I would value any comments

Thanks

Edward

Certifications: CIW Associate
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Take their claims with a pinch of salt.

Whilst I do not know anything about the job market in web development I do know that the people from the training companies have sales quotas to meet.

8)

3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Ed,

As a teacher you are used to training/learning and will pick things up quickly especially as it was always a hobby.

There a lots of business around and they all want sites so there should be work for all! I would speak to jonnymx :thumbleft

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Hi Ed.

Yes there are jobs at all levels out there for designers. But it's an ever changing industry. One minute companies want a web department, then there are cuts and they decide to outsource.