Newbies- BEWARE

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Tom3, Mar 22, 2007.

1. Tom3

Tom3 New Member

Hello all.
    I responded to a internet site for further info on IT courses one week ago.The company is called C******* T******* C******.
    Lady phones me next day and makes appointment for "expert" advisor to visit me at home last night.
    Dodgy salesmen arrives and is expert at pressure-through-psychology salesman technique only-- knows nothing about anything re: hardware or software.
    He avoided the bottom line what-cost question until after 110 minutes of spiel.
    Tries to sell me "CompTia C++" certification course for £2250 and would have had me sign up there and then.
    Claimed 98% pass rate.
    Claimed high probability of attaining programming work within 3 months ( I am a complete beginner !! )
    Claimed their courses are "costs only" as their company made its profit from referring newly-qualified students to employers who would pay up to 2k to them for finding their new golden programmer!!
    After he left ( without my signature, of course ) I went to CompTIA website.
    I was unable to find a listing for any C++ certification.

Admin edit (AJ): There is an update for the following section further on in this thread

Also, beware of at least one company called A***** who advertise on the telly.
    Their website and bumpf ( glossy cards and folder ) through the post indicates the company is an MS Certified Partner.
    According to Microsoft ( MS ) this company is indeed an MS Certified Partner.
    However, their personalised *letter* to me indicates they are an MS Gold Certified Partner.
    I phoned their main number and was told they got upgrade to Gold about 5 or 6 weeks previously.
    The day after, my 'training advisor' told me they have been Gold for at least 18 months.
    I phoned MS and MS could only confirm they are Certified but MS are unable to confirm they are Gold Certified.