Newbie to Virtulization, with all the gear and no idea.

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by Dubfire, Jun 23, 2010.

1. Dubfire

Dubfire Byte Poster

Hi guys,

I’m looking to learn more about Virtualization as I’m a complete novice in this field, apart from the odd virtual PC labs for study in the past. I was looking to step up the game and setting something like a server 2008 with a couple of Windows 7 clients with maybe an Exchange server, with maybe a child domain etc…Plus there have been murmurings that the company’s servers will be virtualized soon, and I’m looking for a sniff of that kind of action.

I have managed to acquire a ML115 G5 (on the guidence of the fourm) hooked up with 4GB of ram (is this enough for my requirements?). I’ve just made the leap of faith and bought a TechNet Sub (once again on the advice of this forum :biggrin). Question is which product should I use to get started – I was thinking of installing VMware Esx1 onto a USB stick ala this article . A little unsure on this one as Hyper V also looks appealing, and seeing as I now have access to server 2008, I was considering installing this. Where would everyone recommend as a starting point, which product would ideal to get started in virtualization?

I would appreciate all responses.

Certifications: N+, 270.
    WIP: 291 then 284 for the MCSA.. ITIL...
  2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

For a start put as much ram into the server as you can afford and that it can run, 4gb for the OS and any guest OS's is not going to give you much room to play\practice. To give you an idea, my main virtualisation server has 64gb of ram but my laptop runs 8gb of ram (I run Hyper-v on the laptop, ESX or Hyper-V on the server).