1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie questions

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by plovett26, May 15, 2007.

1. plovett26

plovett26 New Member

Firstly apologies if this is in the wrong forum,but here we go.
    I've decided to study for the A+ cert as this appears to be the best starting point for a beginner,and i am intending to go down the self study route.Looking on Amazon there is quite a few books etc.to choose from and i would be grateful if anyone could suggest one that would be suitable for someone with a little IT knowledge,but for self study i would class myself as a complete beginner,so i really need study materials that don't assume a great deal of previous knowledge.
    Thanks.

2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi,

Welcome to CF.

There is lots of material availible for the A+. It is regarded as "the" starter course. Take a look here for book advice.

Boyce

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. plovett26

plovett26 New Member

Hi,thanks for the info,Mike Meyers seems to be well regarded so i'll probably give him a go

4. Darren Wright

Darren Wright Bit Poster

5. BosonMichael
    Highly Decorated Member Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome!

I always recommend Meyers' All-in-One A+ Study Guide, 6th Edition and Pyles' PC Technician Street Smarts.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  6. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Thanks for the plug, Michael. You *still* owe me a review, tho. :wink:

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  7. Deckerhobo

Deckerhobo New Member