New To This !!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by tombrogan, Mar 12, 2006.

1. tombrogan

tombrogan New Member

Hi Everyone.
    I have just started on the Comptia A+ home study using David Groth's books provided by my learning provider. Although I do know my way around a PC pretty well and have built one before, I'm new to IT and hopefully once qualified will get a job in IT.
    I'm puzzled slightly by the book I have. It seems to me so far to be more of a history lesson on technologies long since dead, rather than relevant information. Could any of you who have passed the A+ let me know if the exam covers history or is it about the nuts & bolts of the technology? I have to admit there is enough for me to remember without filling my head with useless bits of information on technologies that were scrapped 15 odd years ago unless I need to. Who knows, maybe it's just me being thick. :dunce
    I saw some other postings and saw people had given a good review of Mike Meyers All in one exam guide, so I have ordered that.
    Any info gratefully accepted. :thumbleft

2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

I haven't done the A+, but one important thing to know in IT is how older technology work(s/ed).

You would be surprised ho much of that old stuff is still in use!

Welcome to CF! :biggrin

3. tombrogan

tombrogan New Member

Thanks for your help. Back to the grind stone. :D

4. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...

Hi and welcome to CF, Tom :)

Certifications: MCP, A+, Network+
    WIP: Clarity
  5. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

If the book spends a lot of time on pre-Pentium stuff, then it is a bit old.

Anything Pentium (or equiv) and later is fair game.

Having said which, the exams I took actualy asked very little about the early stuff - but you can't rely on that!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  6. zimbo
    Honorary Member