1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multihomed Server - Routing Issue

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by JohnBradbury, Apr 23, 2015.

  1. JohnBradbury

    JohnBradbury Kilobyte Poster

    372
    39
    52
    Hi Guys,
    I'm having problems setting up routing on a multihomed Windows 2012 VM.
    I have connectivity out to the internet from Ethernet0 but I cannot ping hosts on the private network.
    I know I need a static route but I'm getting errors.

    [​IMG]


    Trying to add a static route
    route add 192.168.10.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.10.15
    Just results in a bad argument error.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2015
  2. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,483
    354
    249
    route add 192.168.10.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.10.15
    I always remember it being funny without its Mask, possibly written by an ex wrestler
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
    JohnBradbury likes this.
  3. JohnBradbury

    JohnBradbury Kilobyte Poster

    372
    39
    52
    Cheers... Route added.
    Still can't ping anything on the 192.168.10.x subnet.
     
  4. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,483
    354
    249
    Might just be how it's looking on this phone, I'm getting old and have gone to bed, why is there no default gateway on adapter ethernet1
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  5. dales

    dales Gigabyte Poster

    1,998
    46
    97
    Windows will complain of you add two separate default gateways in a multi homed setup. Just to be clear Where are you trying to ping the 10.x address from? Is it from the host server itself or from a laptop or something on the 0.x range?
     
    Certifications: vExpert 2014+2015+2016,VCP-DT,CCE-V, CCE-AD, CCP-AD, CCEE, CCAA XenApp, CCA Netscaler, XenApp 6.5, XenDesktop 5 & Xenserver 6,VCP3+5,VTSP,MCSA MCDST MCP A+ ITIL F
    WIP: Nothing
  6. JohnBradbury

    JohnBradbury Kilobyte Poster

    372
    39
    52
    My understanding is that a multihomed Server should only have one default gateway set.
     
  7. JohnBradbury

    JohnBradbury Kilobyte Poster

    372
    39
    52
    Agreed. I set the gateway on the adapter hooked up to the external network and left the internal network without one.
    I'm trying to ping a DC I have on the 192.168.10.x subnet (192.168.10.1) from the multihomed server console (192.168.10.15).
     
  8. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,483
    354
    249
    Sorry dudes I'm being a plum, although now I'm awake I think this static route will do the trick...
    route add 192.168.10.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  9. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,483
    354
    249
    Not forgetting your -p if you want it to stick of course
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  10. JohnBradbury

    JohnBradbury Kilobyte Poster

    372
    39
    52
    Do you mean 192.168.10.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.10.15
    192.168.10.15 being the interface to Vnet3 on the multihomed server. I already did that but got no joy.
    I have added a diagram to the original post.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2015
  11. SimonD

    SimonD Terabyte Poster Moderator

    3,463
    397
    199
    John,
    That's how I expect it to work. by default anything not specified would go out by the default gw (in this instance 192.168.0.1), to add a route to an additional route out of the box you need to tell it what interface to go out from and that's what your command line above should accomplish.

    What I would try next is either something like a tracert or pathping to see what route that takes. I would also check to see if you have a Windows firewall sitting on the network somewhere that's dropping ICMP packets.
     
    Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
    WIP: VCP6-CMA, VCAP-DCD and Linux + (and possibly VCIX-NV).
  12. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,483
    354
    249
    Sorry I missed you'd replied to me there John. Man I'm losing my mojo :S tracert deffo
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  13. SimonD

    SimonD Terabyte Poster Moderator

    3,463
    397
    199
    Architects for you, they can talk the talk but regressed to crawling instead of walking the walk ;)
     
    Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
    WIP: VCP6-CMA, VCAP-DCD and Linux + (and possibly VCIX-NV).
  14. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,483
    354
    249
    Ha ha sorry I probably sound silly don't I, I always thought Architects must be great until I became one then I knew it can't be true ha ha Frightening how much I feel I'm forgetting. I'm expected to be an ocean wide but puddle deep these days :(
    Sorry but anyway be interesting to hear when you've fixed this John, good diagram mate
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2015
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  15. SimonD

    SimonD Terabyte Poster Moderator

    3,463
    397
    199
    John, did you get it resolved?
     
    Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
    WIP: VCP6-CMA, VCAP-DCD and Linux + (and possibly VCIX-NV).

Share This Page

Loading...