Looking for some advice

Discussion in 'MCAD / MCSD / MCPD' started by Cheeze, Aug 3, 2005.

1. Cheeze

Cheeze Bit Poster

Hi, I'm looking for some advice.

Here's my situation:

About 12 years ago I studied Computer Aided Design at college and part of the course involved some basic learning of Turbo Pascal. This was something I enjoyed doing, writing little programs etc. 12 years later I am actually a pub manager with a big hobby in computers. I hadn't re-touched on programming at all since my college days until recently. A lad I knew online told me he was writing a little app which got me interested so I had a little go at VB6, very basic stuff mind you, and really enjoyed it again. Then I saw the ads on TV for computeach and decided that learning programming properly and even making a career out of it may be right up my street. I had an assessment with a really nice guy from Computeach who recommended I go initially for an MCAD and then a MCSD in C# .net. The price seemed pretty steep, about £5200, £8000 with interest on a loan. So before I jumped into this I took to google and had a search and to be honest didn't find ANY good feedback about computeach. This left me a little worried, and with the price tag I decided to turn the placement down.

The thing is that I still am really interested in heading in this direction and I am in no rush. I have taken to teaching myself vb.net for now with the aid of 'Microsoft Visual Basic.net Step by Step' from Microsoft Press. But to be honest, once I've finished this book (another week or so with my busy schedule) I have no idea what to do next, what books to get etc. Unfortunately with my current employment the only option I have is to study at home, and my salary isn't great either so fancy expensive courses are out of the question too for the next few years.