Linux books

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by Theprof, Dec 2, 2007.

1. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Ladies and gents,

I was just wondering what you would recommend as a good book to learn linux? I am a total beginner and right now I am basically learning everything from scratch, such as installing linux packages, learning where everything, or at least the equivalence to windows applications. I am using Ubuntu 7.04 as the linux distro.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  2. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

If you really want to learn the package management system for Ubuntu, which is based on Debian, the book written specifically for Debian on it's system managment tools by a leading Debian developer is probably your best in-depth look at it. It's called The Debian System: Concepts and Techniques. It's written by Martin Krafft and is published by No Starch Press.

Ubuntu stresses the gui more than Debian, but underneath it's the same package management system. The above book is the by far the best reference I've found, and it explains the entire system very well.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Learning Linux and learning Ubuntu/Debian involves quite a bit of overlap but strictly speaking, they are not identical processes. Linux is Linux on the level of the kernel and a recent article I read (which could be disputed I suppose) says the differences between distros is rapidly disappearing on a fundamental level (here's the story).