Leaving Army and need advice!!!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Johno, Apr 20, 2010.

1. Johno

Johno New Member

Hi, Im new to Cert Forums so first of all hello!!,

Im due to leave the military very soon and im looking at going into IT, i come from the Royal Signals so have a communications background but not really IT side. Could some of you older and bolder IT guys have a look at this company for me and tell me what you think, through the Army im entitled to the larger package (£2500) and these courses include food and accomodation. The link below is for the package i would probably get but also have a look at other resettlement or ELC courses and let me know

Thanks very much

Johno

http://www.bluescreenit.co.uk/special/elc2350.htm

2. Kopite_21

Kopite_21 Gigabyte Poster

Hi, welcome to the forum.

If you don't have a IT background I would recommend starting with the CompTia A+ first. This qualification is the industry standard for computer support technicians. The A+ consists of two exams:

CompTia A+ Essentials - It tests for the fundamentals of computer technology, networking and security, as well as the communication skills and professionalism now required of all entry-level IT professionals.

CompTia A+ Practical Application - is an extension of the knowledge and skills identified in CompTIA A+ Essentials, with more of a "hands-on" orientation focused on scenarios in which troubleshooting and tools must be applied to resolve problems.

I am currently studying towards this exam and find it very interesting, have been doing this for the past month now and hope to take the exam in the next couple of months. Hopefully start at the bottom of the ladder work my way up in the IT industry.

To do your MCSE MCSA etc you would need to know the basics first starting and working your way up ie: A+ N+ Security+ and so on. This will lay the foundations first for when your ready to do these exams.