ISA Deplyoment Scenario

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by DJ Prem, Dec 31, 2006.

1. DJ Prem

DJ Prem Bit Poster

Hey guys I need some help with some ISA as I'm just learning out of curiosity so please do explain and say if I'm wrong or I've something stupid.

Diagram is attached.

I'm trying to achieve this in a workgroup environment so no active directory. I'm going to make this like a scenario so people can actually understand what I'm trying to do.

I own a block of flats and I provide free web access to my flat owners but to prevent abuse of the connection with P2P I've decided to implement a proxy.

The ISA server has 2 network interfaces cards, one that connects to the modem; the second that connects to the switch both are static.

NIC1: IP Removed for members privacy - Boyce (Public)
    NIC2: 10.10.10.1 (Private)

So first off all I need IP addresses to connect locally, so I've deployed a DHCP on the ISA server. Now I would like to connect the clients on the web so would I need to deploy DNS, NAT and then ISA or should I install DNS and ISA and no NAT.

Please do explain thank you and Happy New Year.

Attached Files:

• 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      20.7 KB
      Views:
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Firstly ISA can be installed as a proxy server only or as a proxy/firewall solution. With two NICs you are geared up for a proxy/firewall config. If you only had one NIC, ISA can only act as a web proxy, caching only server which basically would speed up the surfing experience of your users but not allow you much control of the content they receive.

The ISA server when installed in proxy/firewall mode will use NAT by default and this is how it should be configured. NAT offers another layer of protection to your clients.