Is MCP the right 1st step?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Donovan21, Aug 19, 2007.

1. Donovan21

Donovan21 New Member

As per my last post I mentioned that I am interesting perusing MCSA than MCSE work my way up the IT ladder but was advised that home study is my best option as paying thousands of pounds to a company who will still provide me with home study material besides their online support. (Rip-off)

After much considering and reading reviews and others 1st time experiences the same phase came up. “Get you foot in the door first”. Many suggested that one should consider getting you’re A+ 602 and 601 after that N+ N10-003 and apply for a role that require these qualifications.

I have basic computer experience, working in an office doing boring administration work so I THEREFORE HAVE NO IT EXPERIENCE.

1-Is above certifications a good 1st step even if one has no experience?

2-If so is the A+ and N+ by Michael Meyers a good investment or start to study from home.(What exam preps can I use OR what hands on experience or workshops is there)

3-Can anyone recommend and other study material maybe for total beginners (Computer Fundamentals) to get your 1st IT certification A-Z.

4-Would completing the A+ and N+ make me a MCP?

5-If not what other skills would I need to become a MCP?

6_WILL THIS SECURE ME MY 1ST IT JOB.

OR
    Should I study including A+ AND N+ towards MCDSP with 272-271 to secure my 1st job?

I figured that from here I would be able to answer my one questions and know which route/path. I’m I wrong or right or have I at least got an Idea. If not could anyone advice me of the A-Z’s required for total beginners.

Anyone reading this may want to check out this link which gave me a slight indication of what I would like to do in IT ,HENCE ALL MY QUESTIONS AND CONFUSION ABOVE

http://tcc.comptia.org/si_new.aspx

Thanks in advance

Donovan21

2. Ropenfold

Ropenfold Kilobyte Poster

Hi Donovan21