Interactive White Boards

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by AJ, Jul 6, 2004.

1. AJ

AJ 01000001 01100100 01101101 01101001 01101110 Administrator

Ok so those of you that know i work in a school and the kids have now fininshed for the summer. You lot know I'm not one to gloat or but we're here this week and then off for the summer. [Sounds of Andrew trying to hide in a corner] :biggrin

Anyway this week we are installing Interactive Whiteboards in some of the classrooms along with projectors. These whiteboards seem to be on every teachers "wishlist" as a "must-have" teaching aid. Now not being a teacher, I personally think that these things are a complete waste of time and an aweful lot of money. Approx £1500 for the whiteboard, £1000 for the projector, the cost of a PC if the classroom doesn't have one and then our time to install the cabling and setting up.

The school my son is moving to in September was saying that by the end of the school year 2004/05 they would have these interactive whiteboards in every classroom.

My biggest concern is that whilst these aids (because that's all they are) are in the classrooms how will the teachers use them. Yes I can show them how the technology works and how to physically use the whiteboard, but how does it aid the teacher in their classroom.

Have any of you guys come across these whiteboards, have you used them and how do you think they will aid not only teachers teaching mothods but how would it aid the students to learn.

Certifications: MCSE, MCSA (messaging), ITIL Foundation v3
    WIP: Breathing in and out, but not out and in, that's just wrong
  2. Phil
    Honorary Member

Phil Gigabyte Poster

We're having one of these installed in a meeting room, we'll see what benefits it brings. Probably just another bit of kit for users to raise calls on when they've used permanent marker :)

Certifications: MCSE:M & S MCSA:M CCNA CNA
    WIP: 2003 Upgrade, CCNA Upgrade
  3. AJ

Done that one.:x

4. r4merlin