1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HP Microserver with 16GB RAM!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jk2447, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,482
    352
    249
    Not sure if anyone is aware, I wasn't until this morning, but the HP Microservers (G7) that a lot of us have bought and love can actually take 16GB ram, not just the 8GB reported by HP.

    We've emailed the company selling one with 16GB here and their account manager has confirmed that they have fully tested this configuration and it works perfectly :)

    The above is currently out of stock so we asked what RAM and they stated "2 x 8GB Crucial DDR3 ECC DIMMs".

    On a side note you can get free next day delivery with the above vendor using the code MSFREENDUK
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
    csx and craigie like this.
  2. Gav

    Gav Kilobyte Poster

    447
    14
    27
    Fantastic! I thought it probably would when it first came out, but didn't want to buy one to find out.

    I'm just a little disappointed I missed out on the insane price reductions when they first hit the market!
     
  3. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,482
    352
    249
    Still 100 cash back though mate. Not terrible.
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  4. BrizoH

    BrizoH Byte Poster

    243
    6
    25
    Nice, thanks for sharing - mines has 8Gb running WHS with XBMC. Might just top it up to 16Gb and use it for cert studies
     
    Certifications: CCNA, CCNA Security
    WIP: CCNP
  5. GSteer

    GSteer Megabyte Poster

    627
    31
    109
    Ok, they just hit the top of the VM lab wishlist.
     
    Certifications: BSc. (Comp. Sci.), MBCS, MCP [70-290], Specialist [74-324], Security+, Network+, A+, Tea Lord: Beverage Brewmaster | Courses: LFS101x Introduction to Linux (edX)
    WIP: CCNA Routing & Switching
  6. craigie

    craigie Terabyte Poster

    3,020
    173
    155
    Think I will be upgrading my lab a little bit later this year and will maybe purchase two of these as ESXi hosts.
     
    Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  7. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,482
    352
    249
    Nice one mate, should be more than enough and much more wife friendly when the bill comes in ha ha. I know SimonD has one as a dedicated OpenFiler box so maybe get 3! ha ha
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  8. Theprof

    Theprof Petabyte Poster Forum Leader

    4,570
    68
    196
    I have to build a lab with these microservers... I used to have an ML115 but had to give it back when I switched companies.
     
    Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  9. trebor_88

    trebor_88 Byte Poster

    105
    2
    27
    Certifications: MCP, MCDST, MCSA, MCITP:EDST, MCTS:7
    WIP: VMware VCP 5, MCSE and CCNA
  10. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,482
    352
    249
    Good find mate, looks like ServersPlus are really pushing the boundaries! Good on em.
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  11. trebor_88

    trebor_88 Byte Poster

    105
    2
    27
    Shame its nearly £400 of ram! Very tempted mind you, perfect nested environment.
     
    Certifications: MCP, MCDST, MCSA, MCITP:EDST, MCTS:7
    WIP: VMware VCP 5, MCSE and CCNA
  12. craigie

    craigie Terabyte Poster

    3,020
    173
    155
    Aye, think I might buy two of these for ESXi5 hosts. Would need to upgrade the NIC's, an additional Quad Port Intel 1000 would suffice.

    I have an HP ML115 Quad Core with 8GB which I would turn into a HP P4000 VSA as an iSCSI target.

    Now to convince the Mrs 8)
     
    Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  13. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,482
    352
    249
    Do the old, "you have to invest a grand to get ten back" speech. Works a treat in our house ha ha
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  14. Theprof

    Theprof Petabyte Poster Forum Leader

    4,570
    68
    196
    This is where living alone sometimes is fun... no one to justify the expense to other than yourself... have to take advantage of it now before getting a wify ;)
     
    Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  15. jk2447

    jk2447 Petabyte Poster Moderator

    5,482
    352
    249
    See I think I couldn't win in that case either because I argue with myself more than anyone else ha ha I must have a wife emulator mode because I'd put it in the basket then sit there arguing with myself if I really need it or not ha ha
     
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, VCP4, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VCP5, VCP6-NV
  16. fadynaime

    fadynaime New Member

    3
    0
    1
    Hi First time posting here, I found this thread last week when researching the n40L for vmware usafe at home. I just got this server, got it from amazon with a 2Gb of RAM, and ordered an 8GB stick but having issue with the system booting using the 8GB stick. I got the Kingston 1066 DDR3 ECC 8GB with no luck. any advice if I have a problem or this is the wrong stick, I've been noticing a lotof people using the 1333MHz rather than 1055 could that be my problem or is there more to it and i should look for Crucial
     
  17. Beerbaron

    Beerbaron Megabyte Poster

    545
    9
    76
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), MSc, ITIL v3F, MCP, MCDST, MCITP: edst7, MCTS, MCSA: Server 2003, MCSA: Windows 7, N+, NVQ IT lvl 3, MCSA Windows 7, VCP5, CCENT, CEH
    WIP: CISSP
  18. csx

    csx Megabyte Poster

    511
    6
    81
    Might be a silly question, but the link in the original post goes to the N40, will the 16GB also work on the N36? Would be great for my VMware studies in the future...

    Cheers :)
     
    Certifications: A+, Network+, 70-271 & 70-272, CCENT, VCP5-DCV and CCNA
    WIP: Citrix
  19. wagnerk
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    wagnerk aka kitkatninja Moderator

    10,831
    357
    341
    Certifications: CITP, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, PTLLS, MCT, MCITP, MCTS, MCSE, MCSA:M, MCSA, MCDST, MCP, MTA, MCAS, MOS (Master), A+, N+, S+, ACA, VCA, etc... & 2nd Degree Black Belt
    WIP: PGDip
  20. fadynaime

    fadynaime New Member

    3
    0
    1
    it does seem everyone is using 1333MHz not 1066MHz, I will try to get the stick replaced for a 1333MHz or the crucial reported working.
     

Share This Page

Loading...