How to prepare for CCNP?

Discussion in 'Routing & Switching' started by vhb, Nov 1, 2011.

1. vhb

vhb Bit Poster

Hey Guys,

I started studying for the CCNP-Switch exam therefore I need decide how to approach this task, so far I have startedreading Implementing Cisco IP Switched Networks (SWITCH) Foundation Learning Guide: Foundation learning for SWITCH 642-813 and I also have cbt nuggets, but I cant decide what to do for the labs, if buying equipment is the better option than going the simulator route. Will I have to buy this CCNP SWITCH Lab Manual to have an idea which lab to build?

if anyone has any advice that can help I would appreciate it

thanks

V

Certifications: CCNA, MCP,ITIL v3
    WIP: CCNP, VMware
  2. Cunningfox

Cunningfox Byte Poster

Hi I'm doing CCNP at the moment as are 1 or 2 of the others. I've done and passed Route and working on Switch at the moment (exam next week actually).

Honestly the best advice I can give is to get yourself real equipment and practice, practice and then practice some more. Simulator's will cover most things there but nothing beats the real equipment with the real issues backing up the theory. Moreover, some things will not work correctly on simulators for example you can't simulate switches in GNS and BGP is flakey at best.

The switch lab manual I've found is weak, the first few labs are laughable and cover mainly CCNA topics though it does get better further in. The route lab manual on the other hand is great and goes through a lot of stuff and even the first chapter is new stuff. I've not looked for other Switch labs out there as I tend to get bored with the books anyway and go off on a tangent with a 'what happens if I do this....' I found some interesting things about MST this way.

I've found CCNP to be a great and interesting course so far, enjoy it :).

Certifications: CCNP, CCNA, MCP
    WIP: ??
  3. vhb

vhb Bit Poster