How to create a virtual lab/server to study for MCDST?

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by hugorilho, Mar 26, 2009.

1. hugorilho

hugorilho Byte Poster

Hi guys. I'm studying for the MCDST exam. I'm completely new to this forum so I still haven't done any searching within it. There probably are already many threads focusing on a particular topic that i'm interested in: how to create my own virtual lab/server to study for the MCDST? Should I use MS Virtual PC or MS Virtual Server? (I've downloaded both) I know how to use VPC but not VS. I'm not sure what to use to test all the different features of windows XP pro. So to cut the long story short: I have all the resources i need (well, i guess...). My laptop has 3 gigs of RAM which is good enough and I have my old XP pro OEM cd (I'm running Vista SP1 now). I just need some guidance on how to start. Thank you for your help and patience to put up with boring newbies like me! Hehe!

Certifications: MCDST
  2. LordMoolyBap

LordMoolyBap Nibble Poster

I only know what I do which is when I want to mess around with windows server I have it installed on my virtual pc. I use MS virtual PC 2007. If you have downloaded it then just install it then go to create a new virtual computer

[​IMG]

I have just borrowed this image as an example. Click new and then follow the wizard. Run the virtual computer and then install. Doing the installation is part of the set up and is included in the labs of some of the MS exams.

Hope that helps. 8)

Dom

Certifications: HND (Comp) MBCS
    WIP: Msc Intelligent Systems
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

yep there's an option to network the PCs too I have wind2k3 with 3 xp virtual PCs running.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. hugorilho

hugorilho Byte Poster