How Old

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by double_decca, Feb 3, 2013.

1. double_decca

double_decca New Member

Hi,

I am 54 years old and am looking to change career from Mechanical Engineering to IT.

I am studying A+ and Network+, using a self study method, which I think is perferrable.

Is this too late...

Derek

Certifications: MCP: 70-270
    WIP: A+, Network+, Linux+
  2. mackie

mackie Nibble Poster

Hi

I am 52 years old and am working on my A+ so no, I don't think you are ever too old! I suppose as well it depends what you want to do in the future. I work in retail and also have a small accounting practice. I decided to do A+ as an "add on" to my business because accounting and I.T. go hand in hand. Either way go for it and good luck. Interesting to see that you are doing Linux+. I have dual booted my laptop with Linux Mint and reckon it is a fantastic system.

Robert

Certifications: IAB, Sage 50, MOUS and MCP
    WIP: A+
  3. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Eh? You on the wind up mate? :)

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  4. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

You are never too old to do most things in life I firmly believe, obviously my olympic sprinting days are behind me but you get what I mean. The only thing I would say is that if you want to make the move, take it very seriously, as this is your livelihood we're talking about. If at any stage you're having doubts I'd re-evaluate your motivations for changing careers. If you're loving it and giving 110%, that's all anyone can ask for and all you can ask of yourself, at any age.

I personally love IT and wouldn't entertain anything else, hopefully you'll be the same. Good luck sir
    Jim