Hi peeps, new with a few q's

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by mattyfez, Feb 27, 2007.

1. mattyfez

mattyfez Bit Poster

Hi everyone,

Great forums here, plenty of advice an resources8)

I decided some months back to do the MCDST to get into the IT field, possibly followed by a comptia cert,

However ive got some concerns about my readyness for the
    test(s)

ive been a "serious hobbyist" lol if there is such a thing, for a fw years now, and ive been studying the material for about 3 months.
    im studying from sybex and ms press books, and although i do well at the questions in the books, the questions on the MSpress windows operating sys cd are still causing aggro,

im scoring about 80/90% in the books but my CD scores vary from 50-80%, which to me means im not nearly ready yet.
    ive identified and noted my problem areas, but was wondering if anyone can offer some insight to how the mspress q's compare to the actual test q's in terms of difficulty.

another annoyance is that im dropping marks due to approaching a scenario my way, rather than trouble shooting the way MS dictates....any tips on getting into the MS mindset???:cry:

any help much appreciated

matt

2. mattyfez

mattyfez Bit Poster

Just to add,

another thing im struggeling to get my head round is knowing the exact order to do things in, for example, i can set up LAN and ICS in 10 mins flat, but if you asked me to write down step by step how to do it in the correct order, first time, im screwed:oops:

3. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Hi and welcome.

I'd suggest that you may want to get hold of the Transcender Practice exams. They are pricey, but will let you know what level you are at and give great feedback. It also used to be said that if you passed a Transcender then you would walk the real thing!

Be cautious in you use of Practice questions as once you have seen them once you can start to memorise the answer and not actually know the answer.