Hi All

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by phonetic, Feb 17, 2007.

1. phonetic

phonetic New Member

Hello folks

I'm 20, have been messing about for too long and want to get into IT. My background is school, college (HNC Computing - what a waste of time!) and Uni, although I dropped out.

I spend far too many hours a day sitting here and I'd like to think I'm fairly skilled and knowledgable when it comes to computers, but that doesn't count for much when I'm looking for a job!

I was looking at Advent's training regime - £4750, A+ up to MCSE and the bloke that came round made it sound great, but I'm glad I found these forums. I'm now planning to do the A+ and hopefully, if that goes well and I enjoy it, move on to the N+ and higher.

I got 68% on a Hardware test for the A+ just giving it a go out of interest, so hopefully with a little study I'll sail through. Haven't tried the OS yet, so we'll see about that :dry

Cheers for having me :biggrin

WIP: A+
  2. Tyler D

Tyler D Gigabyte Poster

Greetings :biggrin

Wise decision on the self study route, and the A+ is the best place to start.

Best of luck.

Certifications: A+,70-270
    WIP: 70-290
  3. C4sper

C4sper Byte Poster

Hi there. good choice with the advent :)

Certifications: ECDL, A+, MCP, MCDST
    WIP: MCSE, CCNA
  4. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member

I dont think he has went with Advent :)
    Welcome to CF!:)

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, AutoCAD
    WIP: Rennovating my house
  5. Headache

Headache Gigabyte Poster

Welcome. Good to meet you.

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  6. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome 8)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  7. phonetic

phonetic New Member

Thanks for the welcome guys :)

I'm not going the advent route, but I've got a couple of questions about it. About the job guarantee, the timeframe for a job and certs you're required to have passed before they get you a job.