Helpdesk Support Overqualified

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by happystew, Apr 17, 2009.

1. happystew

happystew Bit Poster

Hi

3 Days ago i started a new job, IT Helpdesk support with my local council, and i'm not enjoying it, i know 3 days is not really enough time to judge but its so tedious and boring, im not really learning anything either cause i have been given literally 20 minutes training on there database system and told to take calls without any prior knowledge about the network infrastructure and in house software.

Is this common practice? i asked today for a manual about the Heat database system and was told there was none, i have users calling me up about remote access to the network, but i have no idea what system is in place so it near impossible to help, so all i can do is assign an engineer, which makes me feel useless.

The worst part is i have a honors degree in Network and Computer support, i graduated from Uni about 2 years ago and this is the first real sniff of anything, i just feel overqualified, my manager says there is a good chance of progression into Desktop support etc, but i dont know how long i can handle the helpdesk for.

My main downfall at the moment is lack of a driving license and actually forgetting a lot of stuff from uni since ive not really been doing much IT for the last 2 years

Anyone got any tips?, im making my driving license a priority right now, cause i had to turn down two interviews because they required a full driving license.

Anyone in or has been the same position that can offer some advice?

Sorry about my first post been so long winded haha, lot to get off the chest

Certifications: Bsc Hons Computer & Network Support
    WIP: MCITP
  2. Triton.Deep

Triton.Deep Bit Poster

Sometimes. :) Different strokes for different folks. I've experienced both ends of the spectrum. One day you'll be all, "Sheesh, I got this, go away so I can do my job."