Hello

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Mikeeeee, Jun 30, 2005.

1. Mikeeeee

Mikeeeee New Member

Hi everyone,

Where shall I start...

I found this site after answering an ad in the paper for UK IT Training, it sounded a bit dodgy so I found this site via Google.

I am currently 32 and have only had a little formal training; GCSE Computer Studies, BND Computer Studies and then did a Computer science degree (which I failed due to the boring ness of it - and perhaps a bit of immaturity, it was 12 years ago)

Up until 2 months ago I had been working for Whitbread as a Senior Technical Support Analyst (i.e. 3rd line support and a bit of project management) but was made redundant due to restructuring and removal of technical support.

I have been looking for jobs but most of them want MSCE's etc and although I have 6 years experience I know that a CV won't even get looked at without the qualifications if they are specified.

I would like to get qualified but do not know who is best to go with or which qualification would be best to do. I have looked at the training camp which offers 14 day residential, which I would be suited to as I would prefer the fast paced study - I don't want to be wasting loads of money but obviously am prepared to invest in my future (I am even prepared to go back to waiting tables during the evenings to allow myself a full time course during the days !)

Can anyone help with some suggestions of what to do and who with ? I have read a few posts on here and most of them seem to say that there are a lot of unhappy trainees out there.

I look forward to chatting to all of you and hearing your advice (please someone tell me some happy endings as I have seen loads of horror stories !)

Mike

2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Greetings Mike. Welcome to CertForums. I hope we can help you in your pursuits and help you create the "happy ending" you are looking for.

Certifications: A+ and Network+