Hello

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Islands On The Coast, Apr 24, 2009.

1. Islands On The Coast

Islands On The Coast New Member

I came across this forum whilst googling reviews on the a+ via Home Learning College. Having already signed up to a £1700+ course, I have just this minute emailed a cancelation request within the cooling off period. The reason that I did this is due to the confidence I have gained in reading as little as three posts regarding 'self study'.

I plan to purchase the materials suggested by 'The Zig' inc Meyers AIO etc. I am a novice where hardware and repairs are concerned but have a good understanding of Windows. I am highly motivated to educate myself and I must admit I am excited about what I may learn over the next few weeks and months.

I have worked for the same company in Glasgow since I was 16 (Now 24) and despite the fact I started as an Office Junior, I am now the Operations and Transport Manager in a different department. I earn a good salary in this employment but the hours through our busiest times can be upwards of 70 hours per week. It is my aim to perhaps work towards becoming a IT Systems Engineer. Do you think this is possible whilst remaining in my current employment. If not, at what stage of gaining certifications should I look to get hands on experience.

Any comments are greatfully appreciated.

Many thanks

Robert

WIP: A+ (Self Study)
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

You can study the entry level certs (the A+, Network+, MCDST) while in your current job. However the chances to move from your current job straight to IT System's engineer post, regardless of what certs you may have, without previous experience, realistically, is next to none.