Hello forum!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Stupendous Man, Sep 5, 2005.

1. Stupendous Man

Stupendous Man Bit Poster

Firstly, yes my username is misspelled I should try and fix that.

So! Hi folks, I'm looking for a job in IT mainly because I seem to be capable of learning in this area and also quite enjoy it. Now get your violins out.

I started off with an A at Scottish higher, then went on to university to study for a degree in Technology and Business studies - similar to a joint honours in Computing and Economics. With hindsight, I should have done one or the other, but alas the flux capacitor hasn't been invented yet. I gained a 2:2 honours in my degree and then had to work in my family business where I have been working as IT admin and invoicing manager for 3 years. Its a small business with 25 PCs running XP pro and a server still running NT4 which is doing the trick and there is currently no budget to upgrade.

Anyway it is no longer necessary to work here and I have been looking for (any) jobs in ITfor most of this year with no success and not many interviews even for bottom grade admin work circa £14k. The time has come to take some action and I know that I must retrain. This feels like starting from scratch, but the alternative is to go nowhere. I have been looking into certifcation - particularly MCSA/E or CCNA self study. I am mainly interested in the system support or engineering aspects of IT and am slightly averse to programming - its been a while.

I wonder, with my experience would the CompTIA exams be necessary or maybe just good practice? Its probably worthwhile to mention that I dont expect to be paid a fortune from this, but I would like to have a comfortable standard of living and am prepared to travel/move. I am currently based in Glasgow.

A few questions:

After certification, what are your real prospects of employment, and wage ranges from experience on this board?