Has anyone been declined for a Career Development Loan?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Baba O'Riley, Jun 2, 2005.

1. Baba O'Riley

Baba O'Riley Gigabyte Poster

Hi. I've applied for a CDL but I know my credit rating is a bit poo. I've heard they're not as strict as for a normal loan but I'd be interested if anyone has been turned down and if they don't mind saying, why.

Thanks.

Certifications: A+, Network+
    WIP: 70-270
  2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I didn't get turned down, but in my previous life I worked in retail and we used to offer finance on large items. It was all done through a finance company. It all gets decided on credit ratings, and nobody can ever tell you why it was necessarily good or bad. The only time you might get an answer is if your case was borderline and the computer can't make a decision. In those cases it gets referred to a human underwriter who makes a decision based on the facts.
    There are companies that you can write to who can give you details of your credit history so that you can tackle any black areas. I think Equifax or Experian ring a bell.
    I'm not completely sure if CDLs work the same way, but it's bound to be similar.

Have you tried phoning the bank and asking why you were turned down?

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. Baba O'Riley

Thanks Johnny. I haven't been turned down, my application is in the pipeline. I'm just trying to assess what my chances might be. I know there's no chance of me getting a normal personal loan so if they judge the CDL on the same criteria then I'm screwed.

4. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I think they are more lenient than a normal loan, so you should be OK.

5. Baba O'Riley

Just got my reply this morning. DECLINED. I've sent off to equifax because although I know my credit rating is bad it seems to be worse than it should be. I'm wondering if I've got some bad stuff from family members on my record. We'll see.