Greetings all

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by karnage, Feb 20, 2008.

1. karnage

karnage New Member

Hi guys.

I'm a newbie and have a few questions (sorry its a bit lengthy).

1.I spoke to a 'consultant' about taking a MCP course. Its the MCSA and MCDBA certification together. He said Id have to take out a CDL. He also said that after training they would place me into a job within three months and if they didn't I would have to pay back nothing. Does this seems fishy?

2. He mentioned a starting salary of 18-25k. If I were to volunteer to gain some experience whilst studying would it be realistic to expect to find a job with that salary after my exams?

Thankyou for your time

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

Have a look through the forums here - you will see that this is a common sales ploy, and the conditions around both job and money offers are usualy so tough few people meet them!

A lot of these certs can be achieved a lot cheaper by doing home study, and plenty of practice. Along with asking questions here, of course.

Note that a MCSA is expected to have had considerable experience *before* taking the exams.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

1. Don't believe the 'consultants' they are sales people. And yes it does sound fishy, always read the small print and pay attention to how they word it.

2. Starting salaries start from £10k upwards, just look in your local/national papers, on average they start from £12k-£14k. As for finding a first job starting at £18k with a couple of certs and some volunteer experience, well it's not impossible, but I wouldn't hold my breath.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  4. greenbrucelee