Finally passed MCDST

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by Lingo, Feb 25, 2011.

1. Lingo

Lingo New Member

Hi,

I took the 70-272 this morning and passed with 788 so really happy. I found this forum last month and it helped so much knowing there's others out there studying for the same cert and passing which gave me a bit of confidence if anything. I've got to be honest I'm not the best when it comes to studying and I found it incredibly hard to concentrate on the material. This was my second attempt as my first score was 662 back in January. I took that exam way to early in hind sight and was'nt prepared as I should have been.
    I thought as others have been great on letting us know how they studied I thought I'd share what I did;

* I started casually reading the ms press book for a month last November, I'm not good at making relevant notes and I found the layout of the book well written anyway so stuck to that. I did an hour a day
    * I picked it up from december and started reading a chapter a day. Also while reading I had a second disk on my desktop with xp on and office and worked through exercises in the book. At work we use xp still so I would whenever i had 5 minutes just go through the interface and get even more familiar.
    * Come January I carried on with reading chapters and doing exercises but also did custom exams with the cd that came with the book, 20 questions at a time and carefully reading the explaination. Took the 70-272 exam failed.

What I changed:

* What I realised is that when studying for the 70-271 I studied from two resources to make sure I covered any gaps but I didn't do that with this exam so straight away I ordered the sybex book I heard from this site. I went through it noting any pages I thought weren't in the press release book. I then did the custom questions
    with that books cd.