Does a HND open any more doors

Discussion in 'Other IT certifications' started by ericrollo, Jul 1, 2009.

1. ericrollo

ericrollo Megabyte Poster

I already have a BTEC National Diploma at grade DDD would a HND actually help me considering its another two years.

What would be best Apprenticeship in IT or a HND.

Certifications: MOS Master, A+, MCP 271
    WIP: HND, Programming, Another Job
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Hi mate, its a tough one really. I've got two HND's. One in more the technolgy stuff and one in the more development area and neither really count now that I have a degree. It all depends. I think they are a good thing to do as you can earn credits towards a degree.

I suppose it all depends on what area of IT you want to get into. Support roles I'd say give it a miss, programming I'd say yeah do it.

Jim

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

There's no best, it depends what potential employers are looking for in the future. Sounds like you got decent grades for the BTEC so I'd recommend the HND as it shows a higher level of commitment.

The HND is more a-kin to degree level

The BTEC is only equivalent to one A-Level

It's your call.

Qs

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA
  4. Sco0t

Sco0t Byte Poster