Do degrees still matter?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by robjphat, Oct 7, 2010.

1. robjphat

robjphat New Member

Hi everyone

First of all, apologies for the umpteenth 'how to get into IT' posting.

ok, a bit of background-I have currently started a Masters course entitled Management of IT , however, after doing quite a bit of web research i'm starting to worry about how far it is going to get me in this industry and part of me is thinking of pulling out this course and getting more industry recognised qualifications (the same money would fund a couple of mcp's,comptia's and possibly even a cisco) and using the time I would have spent doing essays/dissertation to get some work experience (even if it is voluntary at least i have my current job). i've never worked in IT before (save for a bit of helpdesk work at my current place) and I think the main reason was mainly down to confidence as i didn't come from a computer science background (my degree was in Business Studies). so after a break from study after nearly a decade i decided to give the mentioned course a shot and i would treat it as a conversion course. Although it is early days, I quite enjoy the work but i have to admit i have issues learning in a big lecture theatre about the subject where as i would have preferred something a little more 'hands on'.

so, my query is (as the title says) how important are academic qualifications like this in IT? If I was to quit would I be hindered not having a computer science background? has anyone done a similar course to the one i mentioned?

I'm no programmer, so the kind of thing i would like to do is hardware/software support and maybe after a few years move into project management, consultancy, IT tuition or just straight forward IT management ( i realise that sounds over ambitious but you have to have goals)

any help would be very appreciated.

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster