Creating the same table in every page

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by simongrahamuk, Feb 19, 2006.

1. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Firstly, I am not a Web Developer, so please don't go all complex on me!

What I am tring to do is to create a website, but as Frames are frowned upon these days I am creating data in a Table. Now, what I would like to do is to have the same table, and its data, open up in every page within the site.

Can someone advise as to how this can be done? Has it got anything to to with CSS? I'm really not grasping how this CSS stuff works if it has, so a step by step walk through would be appreciated.

Thanks. :blink

2. SimonV
    Honorary Member

SimonV Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I can point you in the right direction, one way would be to use Dynamic Web Templates.

Certifications: MOS Master 2003, CompTIA A+, MCSA:M, MCSE
    WIP: Keeping CF Alive...
  3. d-Faktor
    Honorary Member

d-Faktor R.I.P - gone but never forgotten.

simon,

no, css has nothing to do with it. css is the technology to apply a skin, for lack of a better term, onto your bare html. css is pure layout.
    as for the table/data, do you use a cms of any kind, or perhaps you have your own custom dynamic php driven site? if not, then i assume you have a html file for each page, which would make what you want very difficult to implement, without resorting to frames. frames are not that frowned upon, as long they are used correctly and for the right reasons.

4. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Cheers for the reply's guy's.

I'll take a look at those Dynamic Web Templates, and if I can't get it to work then I'll just use the tables!

D-faktor, this is simply a basic HTML page, no underlying server technologies.

8)

5. d-Faktor
    Honorary Member

simon, if you're going to look at dynamic web templates, you'll end up working with those same underlying server technologies, like php or asp.