Ccent/ccna icnd1

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by ICEMAN, Mar 11, 2013.

1. ICEMAN

ICEMAN Bit Poster

Morning Everyone from snowy Newcastle Upon Tyne.

Just looking for some general advice.

Background

I currently work in IT as a 1st/2nd line IT Support .
    I have full access to profile resets, AD account creation, software installs, password resets, exchange advanced etc, so I would say its more 2nd line than anything.

I am 27 years old, and I have been giving the CCENT book from one of our network guys.
    Recently got the CBT Nugget access and I have the videos for this certification.

I plan on reading a chapter and then video, make relevant notes and then progress.

I have a couple of questions

I am interested in starting my own lab from home, as advised on previous posts by member craigie and others, is this reccomended?

In terms of career advancement, is there much demand for ccent qualified guys?

How much does the exam cost?

any other advice would be ideal, getting started this morning when I'm off on holiday from work until thursday.

thanks again, great forum.

graham

WIP: CCNET
  2. BraderzTheDog

BraderzTheDog Kilobyte Poster

Hi Graham,

Good to see you here, and wanting to take on a new challenge!

First of all the big question I suppose, does this certification get you anywhere and is it in demand? The answer ofcorse is yes.

I would say the main question is, are you wanting to pursue a career in networking? If so then I would continue studying the CCENT, otherwise since your mainly a server admin guy, and you are just looking for some valuable networking skills I would advise looking at the N+ certification.

1. Home lab - is a must if you ask me, you can learn the material from the book and videos. More important than that is can you implement the skills on the live kit? You can pick up a starter lab from ebay for around £100, or use a Cisco router / switching emulator such as packet tracer or GNS3.