Career Changers, Training Providers, and Smurfs...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Arroryn, Jun 1, 2007.

1. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

Did I say Smurfs? I meant women...

This may turn out to be a self-indulgent post, but bear with me, it has a point. I was just browsing through the forums as I got in to work a smidge early this morning (45 minutes); I saw a lot of people signing up blindly for training providers and panicking, some people switching careers, and various other topics. So I just wanted to post my (short) experience in my IT career thus far.

This could be a useful read for women getting in to IT, career changers, or people looking to use training providers (who are getting depressed and want to read something positive).

So. The beginning.

Three years ago, I was a forklift truck driver. And it played havoc with my manicures :rolleyes:

Two years ago, I was switched in to the sales department of the company I drove the forklift for. It was between that particular job transition that I had decided to go train to get myself in to IT.

I had always loved computers (in a platonic way). I helped out friends and family with their hardware, but I had never been sure what a *career* in IT entailed. I had already struck up a friendship with the IT tech at work, and when I saw what she did, I knew I wanted to do that for a living, for sure.

My Decision: Training Providers

My stance on TPs is a well-known one, but I feel like reiterating it here. I'll try to do it in a more *compressed* way. TPs are expensive. They will not do their studying for you. The jobs they are promising you lie a few years down the road of a hard career. The average wage in IT may apparently be high, but remember high wages of management will drive up any mean figure. Career changers, who I believe are the most common type to go with a TP, will still probably have to start where most other people start: the bottom rung.