Attainable Goals?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Angry Dog, Oct 14, 2009.

1. Angry Dog

Angry Dog Nibble Poster

I've (we here at CF lol) established which certs I should take, and will take, but are my goals attainable?

I want to be A+, N+ and MCDST qualified within 12 months. Is this possible with an hour a day of study? I am thinking perhaps not? I have 11 years experience with Windows on a helpdesk.

I am pretty bright and take in things quite well, and I appreciate its hard to say whether I will or wont meet my goals, but based on the average person with the above time frame?

Last edited: Oct 14, 2009
    Certifications: IT NVQ level 2/3
    WIP: MCDST, A+, N+
  2. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

You arent going to know that until you start studying them to be perfectly honest. It could take you a week at that rate to be ready for the A+, depending on your personal experience with the concepts and knowledge presented in the certification. It might take you a year just to get to grips with the A+.

Its different for everyone, and is heavily dependant on your skill, your existing knowledge, the time you have available to prepare, and your ability to learn the material you dont know.

Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  3. Shinigami

Shinigami Megabyte Poster

11 years of experience, especially if it is varied, should get you off to a good start.

You might want to do a bit more than 1 hour a day tho... Not necessarily every day of course, you need to balance the work with some relaxation as well.