Amin Khan

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by amin1khan, Oct 10, 2007.

1. amin1khan

amin1khan New Member

I am Amin Khan,I live in Sunderland, England by profession i am chemical engineer and i am studying for my masters degree in Engineering Management, i am interested in achieving CCNA and beyond. I have great interest in desigening chemical plants so alot of instrumentation and networking is done in desigening those plants so its my 1st step twords. I am hoping people here will help me regarding achieving my goals.

2. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Erm well CCNA is going to do you no good as a chemical engineer, unless I'm mistaken, even if they're maybe some networking involved. You would be better going for network+ to get the basics of networking and welcome to CF 8)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Not sure the level of expertise you'd need in networking to integrate into chemical plant design. I agree with Wizard that the CCNA (and beyond) might not be too useful. A related cert, the CCDA has a focus on design elements so maybe that would help. Here's the information:

http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/le2/le0/le4/learning_certification_type_home.html

The CCDA itself might not be incredibly relevant but it might be the first step on the road to giving you the skill sets you are looking for.

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  4. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Well theres SCADA and PC based systems about. Theres also alot of non-PC based equipment around, and while open standards are taking off and are a good thing theres many existing non-PC/internet standards around. For example fieldbus is one network protocol that most PC network engineers would know nothing about. Theres also application level protocols like Modbus.