A way in?

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by simongrahamuk, Dec 19, 2005.

1. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Ok guy's, we have a lot of new members here who are interested in getting started in IT and we offer advice appropriately.

Now what if someone who has been in IT for a good few years (approaching 10 faster than I'd like!) wanted to further develop their skills in other aspects of IT. How would they go about doing this?

For instance my background in IT is in installing and repairing, and then into network mgt, but now I'm interested in learning more about scripting and web design, and perhaps even some programing.

What programs, resources, formal certs are out there for someone like me?

:rolleyes:

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I suppose just what I did.

I am going in the opposite direction. I've been a programmer for 20+ years, but have kept an interest in the hardware side (I originaly trained as an Electronics Engineer).

I'm sufficiently good at hardware that I've become the unofficial support guy in this building, although that is most emphaticaly not my job. (The company *does* have support people, but they all live at another, bigger, office 30 mins travel away.)

I decided in August this year to 'formalize' my experience into some certs, and had already heard about A+. An extensive Google search revealed the CompTIA web-site, and this site, among many other places.

Going the other way *into* programming and the like seems to be less clear-cut. I don't hold *any* certs in that, and I don't know of any, other than degrees, which most employers seem to regard as too theoretical. For the Web side I only know of the CIW thing - but don't know anything about it. (IMHO web design is far too crowded a field!)