A+ vs MCDST

Discussion in 'A+' started by tysfoot, Nov 28, 2008.

1. tysfoot

tysfoot Byte Poster

Hiya folks

im studying for me A+ and im looking for work for 1st line support and i keep on stumbling across roles want experience in microsoft MCDST

I juat wanna know whats the difference is and why most people are going for the A+

Certifications: A+
    WIP: MCDST, N+
  2. del_port

del_port Byte Poster

I think the difference is the A+ doesn't really focus on the indepth functions of windows xp,it mentions xp plenty of times but if someone asked you to set up group policies and additional user accounts it's something you would cover in the mcdst not the A+.

MCDST focuses on all the tools available to you within the operating system,and the A+ doesn't go to this depth of understanding.
    The A+ is much more enjoyable and easier than the microsoft course in my view.

I think the reason plenty of people are doing the A+ is because of the wide variety of topics covered,10 subjects as opposed to two subjects for mcdst,the low cost to learn the subject,the fact you can start as a beginner on the A+,a beginner would be lost quite quickly on the mcdst.

Certifications: A+ and MCDST 70-271
    WIP: mcdst 272
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

The A+ is vendor neutral which means it can cover topics that include learning about IBM, APPLE, MICROSOFT and the hardware and OSes associated.

The MCDST covers how to support xp and the apps that run on xp.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. The Zig

The Zig Kilobyte Poster

Personally, I disagree with the idea that the MCDST is harder than the A+.