A Field Engineer role?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Albert, Dec 9, 2010.

1. Albert

Albert Bit Poster

Would the following job ad be beneficial or worse off in developing my IT support career further? Considering I currently work as a T1 adviser for an ISP client in an outsourced call centre. There's no room for progression, not on the technical side anyways as we can only work on what is given by clients.

Trainee IT Technician

Salary £14,000 - £16,000 per annum
    Job Type Contract

Job Description

We are always looking for individuals wishing to find a new challenge in the Field of IT. We are looking for candidates that have little or NO current IT experience or knowledge as full training will be given. Our preference is to find candidates with good interpersonal skills with a can-do attitude

As an (Trainee) IT Technician you will be field based usually covering a 50 mile radius of your home. You will travel to a local Pick up and Drop Off point or PUDO for parts etc. Then out to various customers including Military bases to fix minor faults or install new equipment. The role suits someone ideally looking for a new challenge that has the interpersonal skills and drive to deliver good customer service. The role offers an excellent way to break into the IT industry as further training would be given to those candidates that flourished in the role.

Key Skills

* Good Interpersonal skills
    * Can-do attitude
    * Flexible
    * Can work well on their own autonomy as a part of a larger team
    * Punctual
    * Motivated and determined

Desirable

* Some IT, Telecoms, or Electrical Background
    * Own vehicle
    * Hold or have held SC Clearance or above

Salary and Benefits