A big hello from redstar!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by redstar, Aug 14, 2007.

1. redstar

redstar Bit Poster

Obviously new here and just wanted to say a big thankyou to everyone that has posted on the many topics around.

I have found the feedback (both positive and negative) that has been provided to be really helpfull to me and hopefully i will be able to give a little back in return that would be benificial to everyone out there.

I've decided to make a change in career into something that interests me. I'm thinking along the lines of mcse. I'm self taught in what i know with no experience in IT or any formal qualifications.

Currently i've had an advisor from both computeach and advent visit me with skillstrain coming tomorrow.

I currently work fulltime (have done for 17yrs) and will use my cash from this job to pay for my studies.

I will provide feedback of those meetings in the relevent areas once i've spoken with the reps concerned.

Your comments and thoughts are welcome, good or bad lol. :biggrin

John (redstar)

Certifications: None
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

If you've got no IT experience, then the MCSE is not likely to help you get a start in IT (regardless of what the training schools are trying to sell you). The MCSE is certainly worth getting... just not at your current experience level, because the MCSE is not an entry-level certification. Have you considered the A+ and Network+ certifications?

Welcome!

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I agree with what Boson already said.

And that's what MS states as a requirement to just be a candidate.