70-290 MS Press practice tests

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by nutsy, Feb 7, 2008.

1. nutsy

nutsy Bit Poster

ARGH!! So, im studying for my first MCP exam, have gone through all the MS press study book, and am now taking the included practice tests to prepare for the exam. Apart from a minor annoyance that some of the questions ask about material that isn't even mentioned in the book (no problem with a bit of experience and some reading up with google) things were going great, until i encountered a couple of gems like :

"The properties configured though Terminal Services Configuration do not include a user timeout value"

!?!?! WTH is this then! A pigeon?? :

[​IMG]

The question stated that users were disconnecting their session without ending it, hurting server performance. The answer suggested modifying the user properties in active directory to set the timeout value, which adds a little more complexity than is needed.

Another example, a question mentioned several stand alone servers and then had two exactly identical answers mentioning domain policy for driver signing. Only one of which, apparently, was correct. Domain policy on a standalone pc ? i think you got that confused with local policy, guys. :rolleyes:

ARGH! thats not all, so many of the questions are obscurly written, or vauge, or lacking information that i often find I'll be second guessing my years of experience in a vauge hope that i might be able to enter the twisted thinking of the question writer and guess what he was actually asking!

Sorry to come on here and rant in a first post, but I'm getting a little frustrated - I have my exam booked on tuesday, and Failing practice tests because of blatently incorrect questions is not a pleasant revision experience! :x